How to get a count of conserved positions of an alignment?

Hello! My name is Francisco, I am a Biology student who is using Jalview for his final degree project.

Could I use Jalview in a simple way to deduce, from an amino acid sequence alignment, the fraction of conserved positions? For example, be able to say that the alignment shows that 45/300 positions (15%) are conserved in all the sequences…

If not with Jalview… Any alternative with which to make this possible?

Thank you in advance for your attention and apologies for the inconvenience.

Hi Francisco!

The Consensus annotation (AnnotationsShow alignment related) is almost what you’re after, but I don’t think there’s a quick GUI way to get the precise percentage information you’re after.
However, there is a relatively quick way to do it using the Groovy Console. I found a similar groovy script in this post by @jalviewbugreporter:
(view only residues with a consensus score lower than threshold - #2 by jalviewbugreporter)
and adapted it to print the information you’re after (which I think is counting the number of residues with 100% consensus in the alignment, and calculating as a percentage of all residues). I’ve left in the column hiding/showing part of the script because it’s visually neat!

To use the script:

• Open Jalview and open the alignment(s) that you’re interested in.
  • Open the Groovy Console (ToolsGroovy Console…)

A new window opens with a white top half for the script and a yellow bottom half for the output.

• Copy the following script and paste it into the script editor (the top half):
def consThresh = 100f;

def alf = Jalview.getAlignFrames();
for (ala in alf)
{
   // ala is an jalview.gui.AlignFrame object
   // get the alignment consensus annotation
   def alcons = ala.viewport.getAlignmentConsensusAnnotation();
   // and mark columns in a column selection object
   jalview.datamodel.ColumnSelection cs = ala.viewport.getColumnSelection();
   if (cs == null) {