Align general sequences

Hi! I’ve just discovered Jalview, I have a social sciences background, I’m studying life trajectories as sequences of states.

I’m wondering if I could apply Jalview for aligning sequences of a fixed number of symbols (for example 50) each
one representing a life state of one person (A= Birth, B= Start elementary school, C= Start Ballet, D= Get married, E= First child,
F= Get divorced, G= Second marriage, …, &= Quit first job, *= Night courses,… etc).

So each sequence is one person’s life and I have for example 3000 persons.

Could I apply the tree-based grouping of sequences functionality (e.g. Neighbour joining or Average disance) to get similar life trajectories using Jalview?

I hope so!!!

Thanks in advance and my apologies for this naive question…

All the best.
Karen

Hello there Karen.

Hi! I've just discovered Jalview, I have a social sciences background, I'm studying life trajectories as sequences of states.

OK. Sounds interesting !

I'm wondering if I could apply Jalview for aligning sequences of a fixed number of symbols (for example 50) each
one representing a life state of one person (A= Birth, B= Start elementary school, C= Start Ballet, D= Get married, E= First child,
F= Get divorced, G= Second marriage, ..., &= Quit first job, *= Night courses,.. etc).
So each sequence is one person's life and I have for example 3000 persons.

Could I apply the tree-based grouping of sequences functionality (e.g. Neighbour joining or Average disance) to get similar life trajectories using Jalview?
I hope so!!!